Tuesday, July 18, 2023


Kaduna, Taraba, Two Other States Join HYPPADEC 

The addition of four states into HYPPADEC, the number of its members increases to 10, comprised of over 1,800 communities spread across Benue, Plateau Kogi, Kwara, Kebbi and Niger states. 

The Hydroelectric Power Producing Areas Development Commission (HYPPADEC) has welcomed Kaduna, Nasarawa, Taraba, and Gombe states into its membership. This announcement was made by Abubakar Yelwa, the Managing Director of the commission, during a capacity-building workshop focused on community engagement and sustainable rural development.

The objective of the workshop was to equip participants with knowledge and skills in global best practices for community engagement. The theme of the workshop was centered around social standard knowledge, skills, and attitudes necessary for effective community engagement.

Yelwa stated that the inclusion of these four states into HYPPADEC was a result of President Bola Tinubu's recent assent to the New Electricity Act. With the addition of these states, HYPPADEC now has a total of 10 members, representing over 1,800 communities across Benue, Plateau, Kogi, Kwara, Kebbi, and Niger states.

Furthermore, Yelwa announced the decision to establish a new Agricultural Division within the Directorate of Community. This expansion signifies an increased scope of work and responsibility for the Directorate, which is considered the backbone of HYPPADEC.

The membership of these states in HYPPADEC will contribute to the commission's efforts in promoting her works.

No comments:

Post a Comment